POLL-LOUDWhat made you feel good t...Potato - CHAT 27/06-5/07/...Potato - ENTRIES 27/06-5...LOUD-CHAT-Weekly comp 21-...LOUD-ENTRIES-Weekly comp ...Poll for Drawn from Liter...What annoyed you today?Drawn from Literature - E...Drawn from Literature - C...Flash Player EOL and the ...POLL-SPOONSPOON-ENTRIES-Weekly Comp...SPOON-CHAT-Weekly Comp 7-...Poll LIGHT IN SHADE .... ...Drone

Author Topic: batch rename  (Read 1240 times)

Offline spinner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1463
batch rename
« on: December 04, 2011, 02:02:43 PM »
Just returned from Holiday, was sorting photos in Bridge. When initially transferred them from the card reader to the HD, I'd named them all SouthCarib. Once they'd sorted into folders based on date, I went in and started to batch rename as to which Island. The first two folders renamed fine. The third folder renamed the files but didn't include the file extension for some reason and I am now having to manually add the extension to 200 odd photos. I didn't change any settings merely navigated from one folder to another. Oh, this is on MacOS. How to I get the batch rename to include the extension again? AND what on earth might I have done to change the setting? :(


And more, much more than this, I did it my way
Ol' blue eyes

http://ddsdigita4.wix.com/ddsdigital
https://www.flickr.com/photos/spin498/

Offline Jonathan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1273
    • PeopleByRyan
Re: batch rename
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2011, 02:15:55 PM »
Don't know what you've changed but I find Bridge on OS X, erm, somewhat erratic.  It follows its own kind of logic and sometime crashes....

Are you sure you've lost the extension?  Often they are hidden and OS X doesn't actually need the extension anyway - you could just select all and then make sure the creator is set correctly (Photoshop?)

BUT, I highly recommend A Better Finder Rename for renaming files.  http://www.publicspace.net/ABetterFinderRename/ been using is for years and it just gets better and better.  For one thing you could drop all the Jamaican pics in a folder called Jamaica and the St Lucia ones in a folder called St Lucia and then rename to [folder name] + [sequence number] in one go ;)  There's a free trial too....
It's Guest's round

Offline spinner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1463
Re: batch rename
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2011, 01:12:39 AM »
According to the "file info" Bridge somehow converted them into Unix executable files and wanted to open them with Terminal but oddly, did show thumbnails of the shots. I think it's no coincidence that my system had installed updates and needed a restart this morning, which I'd done before opening bridge. 

Thanks for the link Jonathan I will give it a go!
And more, much more than this, I did it my way
Ol' blue eyes

http://ddsdigita4.wix.com/ddsdigital
https://www.flickr.com/photos/spin498/

 

latest Posts

Subject Board Views/Replies Member Date & Time
xx POLL-LOUD International Weekly Comp Entries 155/3 Jediboy Last post Today at 12:26:45 PM
xx What made you feel good today General Discussion 591204/3913 anglefire Last post July 03, 2020, 08:24:05 PM
xx Potato - CHAT 27/06-5/07/20 International Weekly Comp Entries 213/6 Oldboy Last post July 01, 2020, 11:52:16 AM
xx Potato - ENTRIES 27/06-5/07/20 International Weekly Comp Entries 60/1 jinky Last post June 30, 2020, 07:16:09 PM
xx LOUD-CHAT-Weekly comp 21-28 June 2020 International Weekly Comp Entries 359/8 anglefire Last post June 30, 2020, 05:32:36 AM
xx LOUD-ENTRIES-Weekly comp 21-28 June 2020 International Weekly Comp Entries 251/5 Oldboy Last post June 29, 2020, 07:30:53 PM
xx Poll for Drawn from Literature International Weekly Comp Entries 204/6 Hinfrance Last post June 28, 2020, 06:42:20 AM
xx What annoyed you today? General Discussion 624160/3955 Hinfrance Last post June 27, 2020, 10:06:52 AM