Camera Craniums

Software, Editing and Printing => Adobe Photoshop => Topic started by: spinner on December 04, 2011, 02:02:43 PM

Title: batch rename
Post by: spinner on December 04, 2011, 02:02:43 PM
Just returned from Holiday, was sorting photos in Bridge. When initially transferred them from the card reader to the HD, I'd named them all SouthCarib. Once they'd sorted into folders based on date, I went in and started to batch rename as to which Island. The first two folders renamed fine. The third folder renamed the files but didn't include the file extension for some reason and I am now having to manually add the extension to 200 odd photos. I didn't change any settings merely navigated from one folder to another. Oh, this is on MacOS. How to I get the batch rename to include the extension again? AND what on earth might I have done to change the setting? :(
Title: Re: batch rename
Post by: Jonathan on December 04, 2011, 02:15:55 PM
Don't know what you've changed but I find Bridge on OS X, erm, somewhat erratic.  It follows its own kind of logic and sometime crashes....

Are you sure you've lost the extension?  Often they are hidden and OS X doesn't actually need the extension anyway - you could just select all and then make sure the creator is set correctly (Photoshop?)

BUT, I highly recommend A Better Finder Rename for renaming files.  http://www.publicspace.net/ABetterFinderRename/ been using is for years and it just gets better and better.  For one thing you could drop all the Jamaican pics in a folder called Jamaica and the St Lucia ones in a folder called St Lucia and then rename to [folder name] + [sequence number] in one go ;)  There's a free trial too....
Title: Re: batch rename
Post by: spinner on December 05, 2011, 01:12:39 AM
According to the "file info" Bridge somehow converted them into Unix executable files and wanted to open them with Terminal but oddly, did show thumbnails of the shots. I think it's no coincidence that my system had installed updates and needed a restart this morning, which I'd done before opening bridge. 

Thanks for the link Jonathan I will give it a go!