POLL - Song Title HeronSong Title CHAT thread 1s...Song Title ENTRY thread 1...Poll - Days out - 18th-25...Windows 10 19H1 is headin...POLL - SchoolSchool - Weekly Comp Entr...SCHOOL - Weekly comp Chat...Entry Thread - Days out -...POLL - DoorwaysChat Thread - Days out - ...1957 Ferrari California 2...Doorways - Entry Thread w...Anything Goes Poll 4-11th...Anything Goes - Chat Thre...

Author Topic: Boot up problem?  (Read 2260 times)

Offline Trickee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 655
    • Mysite
Boot up problem?
« on: September 11, 2009, 11:40:56 AM »
i am re-building a desk top computer when i switch on i get nothing but a blank screen when i hit the f11 key to access boot menu.
i also get a blank screen when i hit DEL to enter setup.

prior to this i get floppy disk fail (40)

any ideas folks




Offline Trickee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 655
    • Mysite
Re: Boot up problem?
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2009, 11:48:57 AM »
UPDATE---fixed the floppy drive but still blank screens after hitting any of the options.

Offline Alfonso_Frisk

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1292
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/nosmo_king2007/
    • My Shipping images
Re: Boot up problem?
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2009, 11:58:13 AM »
I thought bios/boot was f10 ?
What about hitting f5 for safe mode
http://www.fluidr.com/photos/nosmo_king2007
http://www.seateamimages.com/search.php
Wine improves with age, The older I get the more I like it.

Offline Trickee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 655
    • Mysite
Re: Boot up problem?
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2009, 12:06:29 PM »
have tried hitting them as well Alf i need to set CD as boot up so i can load an opps system onto an unformatted sata 2 drive

Offline Chris P

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 516
    • pSquared Photography
Re: Boot up problem?
« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2009, 01:04:49 PM »
You can set the boot order in BIOS.  Set it to CD first and then HDD second.

Offline Trickee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 655
    • Mysite
Re: Boot up problem?
« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2009, 01:07:57 PM »
cannot see bios screen goes blank and flashes is this because i am using my tv as a screen monitor?

Offline Alfonso_Frisk

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1292
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/nosmo_king2007/
    • My Shipping images
Re: Boot up problem?
« Reply #6 on: September 11, 2009, 01:13:09 PM »
have you hit F8 to allow the tv screen to be used ?
http://www.fluidr.com/photos/nosmo_king2007
http://www.seateamimages.com/search.php
Wine improves with age, The older I get the more I like it.

Offline Chris P

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 516
    • pSquared Photography
Re: Boot up problem?
« Reply #7 on: September 11, 2009, 01:14:18 PM »
When you first turn the computer on do you see anything at all?  A memory check or anything?

Could be because it's a TV but it's very unlikely.

Offline Trickee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 655
    • Mysite
Re: Boot up problem?
« Reply #8 on: September 11, 2009, 01:21:11 PM »
get boot up memory check when first switch on as normal, get following options f11 to change boot settings, f1 to continue or DEL to enter set up.
they all result in a blank screen. its a if the picture signal has been cut off after i hit any of the options

Offline Trickee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 655
    • Mysite
Re: Boot up problem?
« Reply #9 on: September 11, 2009, 01:45:03 PM »
I am giving up for today i will have to get hold of a normal monitor as i feel its something to do with the TV, i have taken the graphics card out and switched to onboard graphics but still no picture---need one of those blind dogs that was mentioned in another post :)

Offline Mick

  • I've got the latest Canon - 4 rings, double oven and eye level grill! And HD video!
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2527
  • I really, really hate lawn mowers.
    • Camera Craniums
Re: Boot up problem?
« Reply #10 on: September 11, 2009, 02:29:26 PM »
I am giving up for today i will have to get hold of a normal monitor as i feel its something to do with the TV, i have taken the graphics card out and switched to onboard graphics but still no picture---need one of those blind dogs that was mentioned in another post :)

I was going to say Craig.  If you had onboard graphics, then make sure you plug into this first. When you get into the bios switch the onboard graphics off, switch the pc off.  Plug monitor back into your graphics card and re-boot.   But now reading your post above you have already done this.  :doh:
Thank You, "Guest" For Reading This Post.

My Gallery
Tinyportal.net Running SMF 2.0.13 / Tinyportal 1.0
Guitarist Guild Running SMF 2.0.13 / Tinyportal 1.2R
The Garden Machinery Forum Running SMF 2.0.13 / Tinyportal 1.2R

Offline Trickee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 655
    • Mysite
Re: Boot up problem?
« Reply #11 on: September 11, 2009, 03:00:10 PM »
if only i could get into the dam bios >:( >:( :)

Offline Mick

  • I've got the latest Canon - 4 rings, double oven and eye level grill! And HD video!
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2527
  • I really, really hate lawn mowers.
    • Camera Craniums
Re: Boot up problem?
« Reply #12 on: September 11, 2009, 03:43:13 PM »
if only i could get into the dam bios >:( >:( :)

Have some more  :beer: :beer: :beer: 

Craig, what motherboard are you using?
Thank You, "Guest" For Reading This Post.

My Gallery
Tinyportal.net Running SMF 2.0.13 / Tinyportal 1.0
Guitarist Guild Running SMF 2.0.13 / Tinyportal 1.2R
The Garden Machinery Forum Running SMF 2.0.13 / Tinyportal 1.2R

Offline Trickee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 655
    • Mysite
Re: Boot up problem?
« Reply #13 on: September 11, 2009, 08:37:54 PM »
yes cheers mick its an MSI K8MM3 board. i have built a number of systems in the past and never had this problem >:(

Offline Oldboy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5224
Re: Boot up problem?
« Reply #14 on: September 11, 2009, 09:34:46 PM »
Have you moved one of the jumpers on the motherboard, as incorrect jumpers would cause this problem.  ;D

 

latest Posts

Subject Board Views/Replies Member Date & Time
xx POLL - Song Title International Weekly Comp Entries 167/3 Jediboy Last post September 15, 2019, 10:57:01 PM
xx Heron Wildlife Photography 86/3 jinky Last post September 15, 2019, 12:19:57 PM
xx Song Title CHAT thread 1st-8th September `19 International Weekly Comp Entries 809/36 jinky Last post September 13, 2019, 03:02:01 PM
xx Song Title ENTRY thread 1st-8th September `19 International Weekly Comp Entries 154/4 Jediboy Last post September 09, 2019, 03:08:08 PM
xx Poll - Days out - 18th-25th August 2019 International Weekly Comp Entries 298/7 Hinfrance Last post September 08, 2019, 07:17:09 AM
xx Windows 10 19H1 is heading your way. PC computer questions, tips and how to's 2761/35 Mick Last post September 07, 2019, 02:45:08 PM
xx POLL - School International Weekly Comp Entries 82/0 Jediboy Last post September 03, 2019, 12:02:14 PM
xx School - Weekly Comp Entry thread International Weekly Comp Entries 199/4 Jediboy Last post September 02, 2019, 10:39:51 PM