POLL for STREETSTREET-CHAT-Weekly Comp 1...STREET-ENTRIES-Weekly Com...Horizons PollREFLECTIONS - Chat Threa...REFLECTIONS - Entry threa...Canon EF L IS USM 500 f/4...Horizons ENTRIES 27/07...What annoyed you today?POLL for TIME OUTTIME OUT. Chat thread wee...TIME OUT. Entry thread w...Horizons CHAT thread 2...POLL -NUMBERS and / or LE...NUMBERS and / or LETTERS ...POLL Happiness is.......

Author Topic: Elements Organizer  (Read 2153 times)

Offline spinner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1463
Elements Organizer
« on: April 21, 2016, 09:03:20 AM »
Despite having owned Elements 11 thru to now Elements 14 I have avoided using the Organizer portion. I decided to give it another go this upgrade. I remember why I avoided it. Unlike Bridge, you can't just point it to a folder and look at thumbnails (or if you can I haven't figure it out). However, what I'm posting about is the time it takes for organizer to work. I've pointed to an external drive where I keep my RAW files. It's identified a little over 37,000 images (lots of dupes I should have cleaned out) and it's been cataloguing the drive for almost 24 hrs. now. Does that sound right?


And more, much more than this, I did it my way
Ol' blue eyes

http://ddsdigita4.wix.com/ddsdigital
https://www.flickr.com/photos/spin498/

Offline Hinfrance

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5154
  • Cake is good
    • Hinfrance
Re: Elements Organizer
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2016, 12:57:45 PM »
Is it still running Spinner? I'm guessing you're using your Windows machine; I was under the impression that the Mac version came with Bridge. No idea why the PC version doesn't.

I, like you, have always avoided the Elements organiser after a first disastrous brush with it many years ago.
Howard  My CC Gallery
My Flickr
The theory seems to be that as long as a man is a failure he is one of God's children, but that as soon as he succeeds he is taken over by the Devil. H.L Mencken.

Offline spinner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1463
Re: Elements Organizer
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2016, 09:55:17 PM »
Is it still running Spinner? I'm guessing you're using your Windows machine; I was under the impression that the Mac version came with Bridge. No idea why the PC version doesn't.

I, like you, have always avoided the Elements organiser after a first disastrous brush with it many years ago.

No Howard, I'm running it on my iMac. I'm using Corel's PaintshopPro and Aftershot Pro  on the Windows machine and frankly would use that on the Mac if there was a Mac version. Yes the little spinning wheel is still turning and the catalogue still has several hundred little thumbnail squares that are just grey with little hourglass icons.
And more, much more than this, I did it my way
Ol' blue eyes

http://ddsdigita4.wix.com/ddsdigital
https://www.flickr.com/photos/spin498/

Offline spinner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1463
Re: Elements Organizer
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2016, 01:22:30 AM »
Is it still running Spinner? I'm guessing you're using your Windows machine; I was under the impression that the Mac version came with Bridge. No idea why the PC version doesn't.

I, like you, have always avoided the Elements organiser after a first disastrous brush with it many years ago.

No Howard, I'm running it on my iMac. I'm using Corel's PaintshopPro and Aftershot Pro  on the Windows machine and frankly would use that on the Mac if there was a Mac version. Yes the little spinning wheel is still turning and the catalogue still has several hundred little thumbnail squares that are just grey with little hourglass icons.

People on the Apple Support forums are suggesting that my 8 gigs of ram aren't enough. I'll be ordering more in the near future, in the meantime the catalog is building (slowly) I'm just going to leave it running.
And more, much more than this, I did it my way
Ol' blue eyes

http://ddsdigita4.wix.com/ddsdigital
https://www.flickr.com/photos/spin498/

Offline Hinfrance

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5154
  • Cake is good
    • Hinfrance
Re: Elements Organizer
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2016, 07:40:07 AM »
8gb not enough? That's progress for you I suppose.

The last and only time I ran Elements Organiser it fell over after several hours. Hope yours keeps on running to conclusion.
Howard  My CC Gallery
My Flickr
The theory seems to be that as long as a man is a failure he is one of God's children, but that as soon as he succeeds he is taken over by the Devil. H.L Mencken.

Offline spinner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1463
Re: Elements Organizer
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2016, 04:47:48 PM »
8gb not enough? That's progress for you I suppose.

The last and only time I ran Elements Organiser it fell over after several hours. Hope yours keeps on running to conclusion.

Yes that was my thought.  I got impatient & stopped it. Several blocks of blank thumbnails. And the thumbnails I do have say "file missing" when I tried to open them. Nor will
it let me manually reconnect. PIECE OF CRAP. >:(
And more, much more than this, I did it my way
Ol' blue eyes

http://ddsdigita4.wix.com/ddsdigital
https://www.flickr.com/photos/spin498/

Offline Paul Montgomery

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
    • My photography website
Re: Elements Organizer
« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2016, 05:02:19 PM »
Is it still running Spinner? I'm guessing you're using your Windows machine; I was under the impression that the Mac version came with Bridge. No idea why the PC version doesn't.

I, like you, have always avoided the Elements organiser after a first disastrous brush with it many years ago.
The mac versions changed from bridge to organiser somewhere between versions 8 and 10. Thankfully I kept the old version so I could still use bridge. I'm another one who finds organiser too slow to be useful (and too buggy) - this on a 12GB machine...

Offline spinner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1463
Re: Elements Organizer
« Reply #7 on: April 24, 2016, 11:25:22 PM »
Is it still running Spinner? I'm guessing you're using your Windows machine; I was under the impression that the Mac version came with Bridge. No idea why the PC version doesn't.

I, like you, have always avoided the Elements organiser after a first disastrous brush with it many years ago.
The mac versions changed from bridge to organiser somewhere between versions 8 and 10. Thankfully I kept the old version so I could still use bridge. I'm another one who finds organiser too slow to be useful (and too buggy) - this on a 12GB machine...

Oh well, it's caused me to order more memory for my iMac, not really a bad thing.  :)
And more, much more than this, I did it my way
Ol' blue eyes

http://ddsdigita4.wix.com/ddsdigital
https://www.flickr.com/photos/spin498/

Offline spinner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1463
Re: Elements Organizer
« Reply #8 on: May 05, 2016, 10:15:36 PM »
Well, for me, it's official. Adobe's  Elements Organizer is crap. I've upgraded the memory in my Mac to 20 gigs. Tried to load the catalogue that was allegedly created and gee, wouldn't you know it all the links were broken. Tried the reconnect option. That was bright an early about 8 am. by 4:30 it had only completed 19% of the reconnect.
And more, much more than this, I did it my way
Ol' blue eyes

http://ddsdigita4.wix.com/ddsdigital
https://www.flickr.com/photos/spin498/

Offline Hinfrance

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5154
  • Cake is good
    • Hinfrance
Re: Elements Organizer
« Reply #9 on: May 06, 2016, 03:40:50 PM »
It's always been rubbish - nothing has changed it would seem.
Howard  My CC Gallery
My Flickr
The theory seems to be that as long as a man is a failure he is one of God's children, but that as soon as he succeeds he is taken over by the Devil. H.L Mencken.

Offline spinner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1463
Re: Elements Organizer
« Reply #10 on: May 09, 2016, 03:20:50 AM »
It's always been rubbish - nothing has changed it would seem.

And it's mind boggling when you consider how easy Bridge was to use or LR's catalogue function (which I ended up using). If I knew how to completely delete the Organizer function I would, but I'm afraid it would bugger the Editor function. I also wish I could get half my money back, since Organizer does make up half the Elements function.  >:(
And more, much more than this, I did it my way
Ol' blue eyes

http://ddsdigita4.wix.com/ddsdigital
https://www.flickr.com/photos/spin498/

 

latest Posts

Subject Board Views/Replies Member Date & Time
question POLL for STREET International Weekly Comp Entries 34/0 Hinfrance Last post Today at 08:10:27 AM
xx STREET-CHAT-Weekly Comp 1/8-9/8/2020 International Weekly Comp Entries 120/3 Jediboy Last post August 10, 2020, 06:59:38 PM
xx STREET-ENTRIES-Weekly Comp 1/8-9/8/2020 International Weekly Comp Entries 172/4 Jediboy Last post August 10, 2020, 06:57:54 PM
xx Horizons Poll International Weekly Comp Entries 217/4 anglefire Last post August 09, 2020, 04:51:11 PM
xx REFLECTIONS - Chat Thread, Weekly Comp - 08/08/20 - 16/08/20 International Weekly Comp Entries 57/2 Jediboy Last post August 09, 2020, 03:31:50 PM
xx REFLECTIONS - Entry thread, Weekly Comp - 08/08/20 - 16/08/20 International Weekly Comp Entries 19/0 Jediboy Last post August 09, 2020, 03:20:15 PM
xx Canon EF L IS USM 500 f/4 for sale Lenses 262/6 anglefire Last post August 05, 2020, 07:48:42 AM
xx Horizons ENTRIES 27/07 - 02/08/20 International Weekly Comp Entries 264/5 Oldboy Last post August 03, 2020, 10:25:12 PM