What annoyed you today?What made you feel good t...POLL - Something good, We...SOMETHING GOOD - Weekly C...SOMETHING GOOD - Weekly C...HOME AND GARDEN - Weekly ...HOME AND GARDEN - Weekly ...Poll - Stuck at HomeJoke of the day ENTRIES Stuck at Home 17...CHAT -Stuck at Home 17-22...LIQUID- POLLLIQUID - Chat thread week...LIQUID - Entry thread - w...Tool Time PollPhoto show at the Nec - p...

Author Topic: connecting a camera to lap top  (Read 2912 times)

Offline Geoff

  • CC Regular visitor
  • **
  • Posts: 79
connecting a camera to lap top
« on: December 23, 2013, 12:18:49 PM »
Hi not sure if it possible, can you connect a camera straight to a lap top so when you take a picture
it shows straight onto lap top screen and or the camera's own screen.
I am wanting to set up a little studio so if this is possible it would really help with what I would like to do.
I have seen little screens that can fit directly to the hot shoe on top of camera and was wondering if it would
work with a lap top plugged in via hdmi cable or usb.

Geoff    :hmm:
   



Offline Hinfrance

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5055
  • Cake is good
    • Hinfrance
Re: connecting a camera to lap top
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2013, 02:06:21 PM »
It certainly is possible, something I do from time to time. Lightroom supports a lot of cameras with this (called "tethering"). My Pentax is not supported by Lightroom, but there is a stand alone application called PK Tether that does the job. Tethering is done with a USB cable.

According to Adobe both of your cameras are supported in Lightroom 4.1 upwards.
Howard  My CC Gallery
My Flickr
The theory seems to be that as long as a man is a failure he is one of God's children, but that as soon as he succeeds he is taken over by the Devil. H.L Mencken.

Offline hssutton

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 217
Re: connecting a camera to lap top
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2013, 03:01:20 PM »
I believe the 1100D has 'Live View', so if you use Canons own supplied EOS Capture software you will be able to use your laptop to compose/focus and fire the shutter with the result almost instantaneously being displayed on your laptop screen. IMO far better than using Lightroom tethered. If you use raw you can then always transfer the photo/s to your raw convertor.

Full Instructions on how to use http://photography.tutsplus.com/articles/simple-tethering-for-canon-and-others--photo-9669

Harry

Offline Hinfrance

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5055
  • Cake is good
    • Hinfrance
Re: connecting a camera to lap top
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2013, 04:01:07 PM »
That's interesting - just read the article (quickly), and hadn't realised LR tethering was so limited. Like the Pentax PK Tether the Canon utility lets you control the camera completely - a far better thing to have.
Howard  My CC Gallery
My Flickr
The theory seems to be that as long as a man is a failure he is one of God's children, but that as soon as he succeeds he is taken over by the Devil. H.L Mencken.

Offline Geoff

  • CC Regular visitor
  • **
  • Posts: 79
Re: connecting a camera to lap top
« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2013, 07:52:09 PM »
Thanks Guys for helping me on this, I thought it would possible however I was not
totally certain,  I did read an article a while ago on this however it was all full format
camera's being used.
I now know what I am going to be playing with for the next few days cheers.

Geoff  :s:D:  MERRY CHRISTMAS   :stup:

Offline Geoff

  • CC Regular visitor
  • **
  • Posts: 79
Re: connecting a camera to lap top
« Reply #5 on: December 24, 2013, 11:35:46 AM »
Good morning,  With in minutes of reading the post's above I had the 1100d working great, however
looking at the software that came with the 350d there is not the software to work on this one
I have looked at the pk software and can not get that one to work am I doing something wrong I
have the new light room software  however I have not tried this one yet, It could just be me doing
something wrong, I will keep playing.

Thanks again   :fworks3: :stup:

Offline Hinfrance

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5055
  • Cake is good
    • Hinfrance
Re: connecting a camera to lap top
« Reply #6 on: December 24, 2013, 02:39:52 PM »
The PK software won't work - it's for Pentax cameras only. Is there nothing on the Canon site for the 350D?

Howard  My CC Gallery
My Flickr
The theory seems to be that as long as a man is a failure he is one of God's children, but that as soon as he succeeds he is taken over by the Devil. H.L Mencken.

Offline Geoff

  • CC Regular visitor
  • **
  • Posts: 79
Re: connecting a camera to lap top
« Reply #7 on: December 24, 2013, 06:23:16 PM »
Hi have not been on the canon web site as yet I just googled it and it came up with
the pk site were it does say there that there are downloads now for canon check out
this link   New version 0.4.5 | PK_Tether
www.pktether.com/new-version-0-4-5?
27 Feb 2011 - Release version 0.4.5 PK_Tether – changes: - added drive .... at PK_Tether.dslr_c. ..... K7 was my last model…and now with canon RULES …

Geoff
« Last Edit: December 24, 2013, 06:25:34 PM by Geoff MW6GCN »

Offline WillyP

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 123
Re: connecting a camera to lap top
« Reply #8 on: December 25, 2013, 03:18:20 AM »
Coincidentally, I have read recently about some software that does just this. I can't remember the name of it, I guess because it wasn't what I was looking for at the time. Let me take a look in my browser history... ah, here it is: Photo Booth Software for DSLR Cameras - dslrBooth | Photo Booth Software for your canon/nikon dslr camera & pc/mac laptop. FREE Trial. Most straightforward and loved photo booth software out there.

Can't say much about it because I've never used it, but maybe it would work for you.4

Offline Geoff

  • CC Regular visitor
  • **
  • Posts: 79
Re: connecting a camera to lap top
« Reply #9 on: December 25, 2013, 07:28:41 PM »
Thanks I will take a look at the link you have posted, I have started using the canon software that
came with the 1100d camera (now I no about it)  shame I can not use the 350d with it but ha ho the
350d is just my spare now anyway I don't really use it enough.
 

Offline Mick

  • I've got the latest Canon - 4 rings, double oven and eye level grill! And HD video!
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2545
  • I really, really hate lawn mowers.
    • Camera Craniums
Re: connecting a camera to lap top
« Reply #10 on: December 25, 2013, 10:26:30 PM »
Good morning,  With in minutes of reading the post's above I had the 1100d working great, however
looking at the software that came with the 350d there is not the software to work on this one
I have looked at the pk software and can not get that one to work am I doing something wrong I
have the new light room software  however I have not tried this one yet, It could just be me doing
something wrong, I will keep playing.

Thanks again   :fworks3: :stup:

Does it not work with the latest version of EOS Utility?  Make sure you have the camera's communication's function set to PC CONNECTION. Plug it in, turn it on and see if the software picks it up.  I'm pretty sure the 350D used to work with EOS Utility, but don't hold me to it.
Thank You, "Guest" For Reading This Post.

My Gallery
Tinyportal.net Running SMF 2.0.13 / Tinyportal 1.0
Guitarist Guild Running SMF 2.0.13 / Tinyportal 1.2R
The Garden Machinery Forum Running SMF 2.0.13 / Tinyportal 1.2R

Offline Geoff

  • CC Regular visitor
  • **
  • Posts: 79
Re: connecting a camera to lap top
« Reply #11 on: December 27, 2013, 07:27:39 AM »
Hi Mick hope you have had a good Christmas, Yes have tried it with the Eos utility disc from my 1100d
and there was no joy there (yes I did change camera to pc) as I said it is no biggy I would of liked it
to work.

Geoff   

Offline Tripod

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: connecting a camera to lap top
« Reply #12 on: December 28, 2013, 12:28:38 PM »
Ultimate is Camranger for use with iPhone iPad etc.

Camranger.com is your link

 

latest Posts

Subject Board Views/Replies Member Date & Time
xx What annoyed you today? General Discussion 592449/3924 Oldboy Last post April 02, 2020, 06:25:36 PM
xx What made you feel good today General Discussion 570842/3895 Oldboy Last post April 01, 2020, 10:38:32 AM
xx POLL - Something good, Weekly Competition International Weekly Comp Entries 103/0 Jediboy Last post March 31, 2020, 01:52:43 PM
xx SOMETHING GOOD - Weekly Comp CHAT thread International Weekly Comp Entries 379/13 Hinfrance Last post March 30, 2020, 09:12:04 AM
xx SOMETHING GOOD - Weekly Comp ENTRY thread International Weekly Comp Entries 168/5 Hinfrance Last post March 30, 2020, 09:08:37 AM
xx HOME AND GARDEN - Weekly Comp ENTRY THREAD International Weekly Comp Entries 36/0 Jediboy Last post March 29, 2020, 02:22:41 PM
xx HOME AND GARDEN - Weekly Comp CHAT THREAD International Weekly Comp Entries 69/0 Jediboy Last post March 29, 2020, 02:21:27 PM
xx Poll - Stuck at Home International Weekly Comp Entries 221/3 Jediboy Last post March 29, 2020, 02:16:30 PM