Canon EF L IS USM 500 f/4...Horizons PollHorizons ENTRIES 27/07...What annoyed you today?STREET-ENTRIES-Weekly Com...STREET-CHAT-Weekly Comp 1...POLL for TIME OUTTIME OUT. Chat thread wee...TIME OUT. Entry thread w...Horizons CHAT thread 2...POLL -NUMBERS and / or LE...NUMBERS and / or LETTERS ...POLL Happiness is.......Nice houseHappiness is.... Entry Th...Happiness is.... Chat Thr...

Author Topic: Scam Call Warning  (Read 1215 times)

Offline krennon

Scam Call Warning
« on: June 03, 2010, 09:18:10 PM »
Got a call from Microsoft this evening at about 7pm a very nice gentleman called Steve was calling me to tell me that they had checked my IP address and that my computer is infected with malware and that I needed to give them some information so they can remove the malware.

mmmmm interesting thing about this; The telephone no on my caller id was "Unavailable, Steve had the heaviest Indian accent I have ever heard, the last time I worked in the computer industry about 10 years ago I had never ever heard of Microsoft calling customers to inform them a computer was infected with malware (how would they know?), micorsotft don't "remove malware" for nothing, the last time I checked in with microsoft they DO NOT TALK TO END USERS as a rule and if they do you can expect to pay SERIOUS MONEY for the privilege.

I politely declined this gentleman called Steves help, I advised him that I thought this was a totally bogus call and that I would not give them any of my personal information whatsoever, and hung up the phone....