Macro/ Close Up PollWhat annoyed you today?MY FAVOURITE ..... CHAT ...MACRO / CLOSE UP ENTRIES...Photoshop subscriptionMACRO/CLOSE UP CHAT - for...MY FAVOURITE ..... ENTRY...POLL-FLORA MONOCHROMEPoll for GLASSGLASS - ENTRY thread - t...CHAT-FLORA MONOCHROME-Wee...ENTRIES-FLORA MONOCHROME-...1Dx Mk3GLASS chat thread - th...POLL DECONSTRUCTEDDeconstructed - ENTRIES 2...

Author Topic: Elements Organizer  (Read 2082 times)

Offline spinner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1463
Elements Organizer
« on: April 21, 2016, 09:03:20 AM »
Despite having owned Elements 11 thru to now Elements 14 I have avoided using the Organizer portion. I decided to give it another go this upgrade. I remember why I avoided it. Unlike Bridge, you can't just point it to a folder and look at thumbnails (or if you can I haven't figure it out). However, what I'm posting about is the time it takes for organizer to work. I've pointed to an external drive where I keep my RAW files. It's identified a little over 37,000 images (lots of dupes I should have cleaned out) and it's been cataloguing the drive for almost 24 hrs. now. Does that sound right?


And more, much more than this, I did it my way
Ol' blue eyes

http://ddsdigita4.wix.com/ddsdigital
https://www.flickr.com/photos/spin498/

Offline Hinfrance

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5098
  • Cake is good
    • Hinfrance
Re: Elements Organizer
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2016, 12:57:45 PM »
Is it still running Spinner? I'm guessing you're using your Windows machine; I was under the impression that the Mac version came with Bridge. No idea why the PC version doesn't.

I, like you, have always avoided the Elements organiser after a first disastrous brush with it many years ago.
Howard  My CC Gallery
My Flickr
The theory seems to be that as long as a man is a failure he is one of God's children, but that as soon as he succeeds he is taken over by the Devil. H.L Mencken.

Offline spinner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1463
Re: Elements Organizer
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2016, 09:55:17 PM »
Is it still running Spinner? I'm guessing you're using your Windows machine; I was under the impression that the Mac version came with Bridge. No idea why the PC version doesn't.

I, like you, have always avoided the Elements organiser after a first disastrous brush with it many years ago.

No Howard, I'm running it on my iMac. I'm using Corel's PaintshopPro and Aftershot Pro  on the Windows machine and frankly would use that on the Mac if there was a Mac version. Yes the little spinning wheel is still turning and the catalogue still has several hundred little thumbnail squares that are just grey with little hourglass icons.
And more, much more than this, I did it my way
Ol' blue eyes

http://ddsdigita4.wix.com/ddsdigital
https://www.flickr.com/photos/spin498/

Offline spinner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1463
Re: Elements Organizer
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2016, 01:22:30 AM »
Is it still running Spinner? I'm guessing you're using your Windows machine; I was under the impression that the Mac version came with Bridge. No idea why the PC version doesn't.

I, like you, have always avoided the Elements organiser after a first disastrous brush with it many years ago.

No Howard, I'm running it on my iMac. I'm using Corel's PaintshopPro and Aftershot Pro  on the Windows machine and frankly would use that on the Mac if there was a Mac version. Yes the little spinning wheel is still turning and the catalogue still has several hundred little thumbnail squares that are just grey with little hourglass icons.

People on the Apple Support forums are suggesting that my 8 gigs of ram aren't enough. I'll be ordering more in the near future, in the meantime the catalog is building (slowly) I'm just going to leave it running.
And more, much more than this, I did it my way
Ol' blue eyes

http://ddsdigita4.wix.com/ddsdigital
https://www.flickr.com/photos/spin498/

Offline Hinfrance

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5098
  • Cake is good
    • Hinfrance
Re: Elements Organizer
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2016, 07:40:07 AM »
8gb not enough? That's progress for you I suppose.

The last and only time I ran Elements Organiser it fell over after several hours. Hope yours keeps on running to conclusion.
Howard  My CC Gallery
My Flickr
The theory seems to be that as long as a man is a failure he is one of God's children, but that as soon as he succeeds he is taken over by the Devil. H.L Mencken.

Offline spinner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1463
Re: Elements Organizer
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2016, 04:47:48 PM »
8gb not enough? That's progress for you I suppose.

The last and only time I ran Elements Organiser it fell over after several hours. Hope yours keeps on running to conclusion.

Yes that was my thought.  I got impatient & stopped it. Several blocks of blank thumbnails. And the thumbnails I do have say "file missing" when I tried to open them. Nor will
it let me manually reconnect. PIECE OF CRAP. >:(
And more, much more than this, I did it my way
Ol' blue eyes

http://ddsdigita4.wix.com/ddsdigital
https://www.flickr.com/photos/spin498/

Offline Paul Montgomery

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
    • My photography website
Re: Elements Organizer
« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2016, 05:02:19 PM »
Is it still running Spinner? I'm guessing you're using your Windows machine; I was under the impression that the Mac version came with Bridge. No idea why the PC version doesn't.

I, like you, have always avoided the Elements organiser after a first disastrous brush with it many years ago.
The mac versions changed from bridge to organiser somewhere between versions 8 and 10. Thankfully I kept the old version so I could still use bridge. I'm another one who finds organiser too slow to be useful (and too buggy) - this on a 12GB machine...

Offline spinner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1463
Re: Elements Organizer
« Reply #7 on: April 24, 2016, 11:25:22 PM »
Is it still running Spinner? I'm guessing you're using your Windows machine; I was under the impression that the Mac version came with Bridge. No idea why the PC version doesn't.

I, like you, have always avoided the Elements organiser after a first disastrous brush with it many years ago.
The mac versions changed from bridge to organiser somewhere between versions 8 and 10. Thankfully I kept the old version so I could still use bridge. I'm another one who finds organiser too slow to be useful (and too buggy) - this on a 12GB machine...

Oh well, it's caused me to order more memory for my iMac, not really a bad thing.  :)
And more, much more than this, I did it my way
Ol' blue eyes

http://ddsdigita4.wix.com/ddsdigital
https://www.flickr.com/photos/spin498/

Offline spinner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1463
Re: Elements Organizer
« Reply #8 on: May 05, 2016, 10:15:36 PM »
Well, for me, it's official. Adobe's  Elements Organizer is crap. I've upgraded the memory in my Mac to 20 gigs. Tried to load the catalogue that was allegedly created and gee, wouldn't you know it all the links were broken. Tried the reconnect option. That was bright an early about 8 am. by 4:30 it had only completed 19% of the reconnect.
And more, much more than this, I did it my way
Ol' blue eyes

http://ddsdigita4.wix.com/ddsdigital
https://www.flickr.com/photos/spin498/

Offline Hinfrance

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5098
  • Cake is good
    • Hinfrance
Re: Elements Organizer
« Reply #9 on: May 06, 2016, 03:40:50 PM »
It's always been rubbish - nothing has changed it would seem.
Howard  My CC Gallery
My Flickr
The theory seems to be that as long as a man is a failure he is one of God's children, but that as soon as he succeeds he is taken over by the Devil. H.L Mencken.

Offline spinner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1463
Re: Elements Organizer
« Reply #10 on: May 09, 2016, 03:20:50 AM »
It's always been rubbish - nothing has changed it would seem.

And it's mind boggling when you consider how easy Bridge was to use or LR's catalogue function (which I ended up using). If I knew how to completely delete the Organizer function I would, but I'm afraid it would bugger the Editor function. I also wish I could get half my money back, since Organizer does make up half the Elements function.  >:(
And more, much more than this, I did it my way
Ol' blue eyes

http://ddsdigita4.wix.com/ddsdigital
https://www.flickr.com/photos/spin498/

 

latest Posts

Subject Board Views/Replies Member Date & Time
xx Macro/ Close Up Poll International Weekly Comp Entries 61/1 Oldboy Last post Today at 02:54:28 PM
xx What annoyed you today? General Discussion 614847/3940 jinky Last post Today at 02:36:45 PM
xx MY FAVOURITE ..... CHAT THREAD 25th- 31st May 2020 International Weekly Comp Entries 143/6 Oldboy Last post May 27, 2020, 12:16:45 AM
xx MACRO / CLOSE UP ENTRIES for weekly comp 17-24th May 2020 International Weekly Comp Entries 138/5 jinky Last post May 25, 2020, 06:35:33 PM
xx Photoshop subscription General Discussion 640/23 Jediboy Last post May 25, 2020, 06:35:16 PM
xx MACRO/CLOSE UP CHAT - for weekly comp 17-24/05/2020 International Weekly Comp Entries 142/3 Jediboy Last post May 25, 2020, 06:29:24 PM
xx MY FAVOURITE ..... ENTRY THREAD 25th- 31st May 2020 International Weekly Comp Entries 41/0 jinky Last post May 25, 2020, 08:07:47 AM
xx POLL-FLORA MONOCHROME International Weekly Comp Entries 244/2 Beaux Reflets Last post May 23, 2020, 06:37:39 PM