What annoyed you today?MACRO/CLOSE UP CHAT - for...Macro/ Close Up PollMY FAVOURITE ..... CHAT ...MACRO / CLOSE UP ENTRIES...Photoshop subscriptionMY FAVOURITE ..... ENTRY...POLL-FLORA MONOCHROMEPoll for GLASSGLASS - ENTRY thread - t...CHAT-FLORA MONOCHROME-Wee...ENTRIES-FLORA MONOCHROME-...1Dx Mk3GLASS chat thread - th...POLL DECONSTRUCTEDDeconstructed - ENTRIES 2...

Author Topic: batch rename  (Read 1227 times)

Offline spinner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1463
batch rename
« on: December 04, 2011, 02:02:43 PM »
Just returned from Holiday, was sorting photos in Bridge. When initially transferred them from the card reader to the HD, I'd named them all SouthCarib. Once they'd sorted into folders based on date, I went in and started to batch rename as to which Island. The first two folders renamed fine. The third folder renamed the files but didn't include the file extension for some reason and I am now having to manually add the extension to 200 odd photos. I didn't change any settings merely navigated from one folder to another. Oh, this is on MacOS. How to I get the batch rename to include the extension again? AND what on earth might I have done to change the setting? :(


And more, much more than this, I did it my way
Ol' blue eyes

http://ddsdigita4.wix.com/ddsdigital
https://www.flickr.com/photos/spin498/

Offline Jonathan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1273
    • PeopleByRyan
Re: batch rename
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2011, 02:15:55 PM »
Don't know what you've changed but I find Bridge on OS X, erm, somewhat erratic.  It follows its own kind of logic and sometime crashes....

Are you sure you've lost the extension?  Often they are hidden and OS X doesn't actually need the extension anyway - you could just select all and then make sure the creator is set correctly (Photoshop?)

BUT, I highly recommend A Better Finder Rename for renaming files.  http://www.publicspace.net/ABetterFinderRename/ been using is for years and it just gets better and better.  For one thing you could drop all the Jamaican pics in a folder called Jamaica and the St Lucia ones in a folder called St Lucia and then rename to [folder name] + [sequence number] in one go ;)  There's a free trial too....
It's Guest's round

Offline spinner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1463
Re: batch rename
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2011, 01:12:39 AM »
According to the "file info" Bridge somehow converted them into Unix executable files and wanted to open them with Terminal but oddly, did show thumbnails of the shots. I think it's no coincidence that my system had installed updates and needed a restart this morning, which I'd done before opening bridge. 

Thanks for the link Jonathan I will give it a go!
And more, much more than this, I did it my way
Ol' blue eyes

http://ddsdigita4.wix.com/ddsdigital
https://www.flickr.com/photos/spin498/

 

latest Posts

Subject Board Views/Replies Member Date & Time
xx What annoyed you today? General Discussion 615295/3947 Jediboy Last post May 29, 2020, 09:04:55 PM
xx MACRO/CLOSE UP CHAT - for weekly comp 17-24/05/2020 International Weekly Comp Entries 167/4 jinky Last post May 29, 2020, 07:08:56 AM
xx Macro/ Close Up Poll International Weekly Comp Entries 81/1 Oldboy Last post May 28, 2020, 02:54:28 PM
xx MY FAVOURITE ..... CHAT THREAD 25th- 31st May 2020 International Weekly Comp Entries 151/6 Oldboy Last post May 27, 2020, 12:16:45 AM
xx MACRO / CLOSE UP ENTRIES for weekly comp 17-24th May 2020 International Weekly Comp Entries 144/5 jinky Last post May 25, 2020, 06:35:33 PM
xx Photoshop subscription General Discussion 651/23 Jediboy Last post May 25, 2020, 06:35:16 PM
xx MY FAVOURITE ..... ENTRY THREAD 25th- 31st May 2020 International Weekly Comp Entries 44/0 jinky Last post May 25, 2020, 08:07:47 AM
xx POLL-FLORA MONOCHROME International Weekly Comp Entries 247/2 Beaux Reflets Last post May 23, 2020, 06:37:39 PM