RSPB international photog...POLL for DIYDIY ENTRIES 22-29/11/20DIY CHAT 22-29/11/20Poll -On My WalkENTRIES-GROUND LEVEL-Week...CHAT-GROUND LEVEL-Weekly ...CHAT - ON MY WALK 14-22nd...ENTRIES - ON MY WALK 14-2...POLL - Medical What made you feel good t...What annoyed you today?International Photographe...Entry thread - MEDICAL - ...Chat Thread - Medical - W...Poll for bonfire Night in...

Author Topic: batch rename  (Read 1318 times)

Offline spinner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1463
batch rename
« on: December 04, 2011, 02:02:43 PM »
Just returned from Holiday, was sorting photos in Bridge. When initially transferred them from the card reader to the HD, I'd named them all SouthCarib. Once they'd sorted into folders based on date, I went in and started to batch rename as to which Island. The first two folders renamed fine. The third folder renamed the files but didn't include the file extension for some reason and I am now having to manually add the extension to 200 odd photos. I didn't change any settings merely navigated from one folder to another. Oh, this is on MacOS. How to I get the batch rename to include the extension again? AND what on earth might I have done to change the setting? :(


And more, much more than this, I did it my way
Ol' blue eyes

http://ddsdigita4.wix.com/ddsdigital
https://www.flickr.com/photos/spin498/

Offline Jonathan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1273
    • PeopleByRyan
Re: batch rename
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2011, 02:15:55 PM »
Don't know what you've changed but I find Bridge on OS X, erm, somewhat erratic.  It follows its own kind of logic and sometime crashes....

Are you sure you've lost the extension?  Often they are hidden and OS X doesn't actually need the extension anyway - you could just select all and then make sure the creator is set correctly (Photoshop?)

BUT, I highly recommend A Better Finder Rename for renaming files.  http://www.publicspace.net/ABetterFinderRename/ been using is for years and it just gets better and better.  For one thing you could drop all the Jamaican pics in a folder called Jamaica and the St Lucia ones in a folder called St Lucia and then rename to [folder name] + [sequence number] in one go ;)  There's a free trial too....
It's Guest's round

Offline spinner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1463
Re: batch rename
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2011, 01:12:39 AM »
According to the "file info" Bridge somehow converted them into Unix executable files and wanted to open them with Terminal but oddly, did show thumbnails of the shots. I think it's no coincidence that my system had installed updates and needed a restart this morning, which I'd done before opening bridge. 

Thanks for the link Jonathan I will give it a go!
And more, much more than this, I did it my way
Ol' blue eyes

http://ddsdigita4.wix.com/ddsdigital
https://www.flickr.com/photos/spin498/

 

latest Posts

Subject Board Views/Replies Member Date & Time
xx RSPB international photographer of the year. Published Work 84/1 Jediboy Last post December 01, 2020, 05:34:43 PM
xx POLL for DIY International Weekly Comp Entries 85/0 jinky Last post December 01, 2020, 07:49:09 AM
xx DIY ENTRIES 22-29/11/20 International Weekly Comp Entries 123/3 Jediboy Last post November 30, 2020, 07:00:24 PM
xx DIY CHAT 22-29/11/20 International Weekly Comp Entries 316/8 jinky Last post November 30, 2020, 05:05:36 PM
xx Poll -On My Walk International Weekly Comp Entries 248/4 Jediboy Last post November 29, 2020, 02:31:46 PM
xx ENTRIES-GROUND LEVEL-Weekly Comp 29/11-6/12/20 International Weekly Comp Entries 33/0 Hinfrance Last post November 29, 2020, 08:18:46 AM
smiley CHAT-GROUND LEVEL-Weekly Comp 29/11-6/12/20 International Weekly Comp Entries 46/0 Hinfrance Last post November 29, 2020, 08:18:12 AM
xx CHAT - ON MY WALK 14-22nd November2020 International Weekly Comp Entries 255/7 anglefire Last post November 22, 2020, 08:07:14 PM