POLL - Outdoors Outdoors - ENTRY thread -...What is it? - CHAT thread...What is it? ENTRY thread ...End of an EraPoll - Doom and GloomDOOM and GLOOM CHAT 13-2...Outdoors - CHAT thread - ...DOOM and GLOOM ENTRIES 1...POLL - FruitPOLL - VehiclesENTRIES-FRUIT-Weekly Comp...CHAT-FRUIT-Weekly Comp 6-...VEHICLES - CHAT thread we...VEHICLES - ENTRY thread w...Poll - Portraits

Author Topic: Removing cache in CS  (Read 1726 times)

Offline Sarasocke

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 680
    • my flickr
Removing cache in CS
« on: February 25, 2011, 10:51:19 AM »
I work with CS5 and Nikon NX2.
If I remove the files in the Adobe cache, would I be destroying anything?
My actual files are on a different drive (the software + cache on c and my files on d)

Crumbs my English again, I hope you understand what I'm trying to say ;)


Carol aka Sarasocke 
My Gallery

Online Oldboy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5428
Re: Removing cache in CS
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2011, 11:23:54 AM »
Should be a problem as cache is used by the history palette. I've copied below what it says in CS3.  ;D

Because caches can become very large, you may want to purge the cache or limit its size. You can also purge and regenerate the cache if you suspect that it is corrupted or old. Purging the cache deletes thumbnail information and metadata added since the camera raw file was opened in Bridge.

Note: The Camera Raw cache holds data for about 200 images for each gigabyte of disk storage allocated to it. By default, the Camera Raw cache is set to a maximum size of 1 GB. You can increase its limit in the Camera Raw Preferences.
In Bridge, choose Edit > Camera Raw Preferences (Windows) or Bridge > Camera Raw Preferences (Mac OS), or, with the Camera Raw dialog box open, click the Open Preferences Dialog button .
Do any of the following:
To change the cache size, enter a Maximum Size value.

To purge the camera raw cache, click the Purge Cache button.

To change the location of the camera raw cache, click Select Location.



Offline Sarasocke

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 680
    • my flickr
Re: Removing cache in CS
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2011, 03:50:21 PM »
Thanks!!

I've just doubled the size, I hope the problem goes away now.

I just love this forum, there's always someone who knows what to do :)
Thanks, Oldboy  :tup:
Carol aka Sarasocke 
My Gallery

Offline Sarasocke

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 680
    • my flickr
Re: Removing cache in CS
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2011, 04:16:00 PM »
um ...
Just started up Nikon Capture and was told the memory in the "temp" files should be increased. It does still work, but this warning keeps popping up.

Anyone use Nikon Capture?
Carol aka Sarasocke 
My Gallery

Offline spinner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1463
Re: Removing cache in CS
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2011, 05:38:02 PM »
um ...
Just started up Nikon Capture and was told the memory in the "temp" files should be increased. It does still work, but this warning keeps popping up.

Anyone use Nikon Capture?

I don't use Nikon Capture, but I'm going to guess that they want you to do the same thing for Capture and increase the cache. I'm not sure if you are operating on the belief that Photoshop's cache is also Captures. I don't believe they are. In fact I'll go so far as to say even the cache files for Camera Raw are separate from Adobe as a whole. If you look at PS's preferences you will see the sizes are different and likely in a different location. The same will hold true for NC , it will have it's own memory settings and location. I read an article recently suggesting you have your cache file repository on a separate drive to speed the process. I bought myself an 8 gig USB drive which I keep plugged in and use just for that purpose. Since Camera Raw shuts down when you move to CS5 I let the USB serve as cache for both without issue.
And more, much more than this, I did it my way
Ol' blue eyes

http://ddsdigita4.wix.com/ddsdigital
https://www.flickr.com/photos/spin498/

Offline Sarasocke

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 680
    • my flickr
Re: Removing cache in CS
« Reply #5 on: February 25, 2011, 06:13:31 PM »
Quote
I'm not sure if you are operating on the belief that Photoshop's cache is also Captures
 

No, I didn't  ;)
Carol aka Sarasocke 
My Gallery

Online Oldboy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5428
Re: Removing cache in CS
« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2011, 09:33:45 PM »
um ...
Just started up Nikon Capture and was told the memory in the "temp" files should be increased. It does still work, but this warning keeps popping up.

Anyone use Nikon Capture?

Try increasing the size of the Swap File. Click Start, System and select Advanced System Settings, then click on the Advanced Tab and click on the Performance Settings button. Click the Advanced Tab and click on the Change button in the Virtual Memory box. When this opens increase the number in the Maximum size box then click set. I have mine set to 5000mb for a 1.5tb drive. If you notice the Space Available info just above it tells you the size of the free space on your drive and below, it tells you the Recommended size. This is a good guide to what figure you should use.   After setting this you will need to reboot the computer. ;D
« Last Edit: February 25, 2011, 09:35:45 PM by Oldboy »

 

latest Posts

Subject Board Views/Replies Member Date & Time
xx POLL - Outdoors International Weekly Comp Entries 14/0 Jediboy Last post Today at 06:17:14 PM
xx Outdoors - ENTRY thread - Weekly Comp 20/09/30 - 27/09/20 International Weekly Comp Entries 154/4 Oldboy Last post September 28, 2020, 10:02:45 AM
xx What is it? - CHAT thread - Weekly Comp 26/09/2020 - 04/10/2020 International Weekly Comp Entries 20/0 Jediboy Last post September 27, 2020, 07:20:03 PM
xx What is it? ENTRY thread - Weekly Comp 26/09/2020 - 04/10/2020 International Weekly Comp Entries 14/0 Jediboy Last post September 27, 2020, 07:17:48 PM
xx End of an Era General Discussion 118/6 anglefire Last post September 27, 2020, 02:28:15 PM
xx Poll - Doom and Gloom International Weekly Comp Entries 194/5 Jediboy Last post September 26, 2020, 09:30:50 PM
xx DOOM and GLOOM CHAT 13-20/092020 International Weekly Comp Entries 221/6 jinky Last post September 22, 2020, 09:54:12 AM
xx Outdoors - CHAT thread - Weekly comp 20/09/20 - 27/09/20 International Weekly Comp Entries 147/4 Oldboy Last post September 22, 2020, 12:03:31 AM