Camera Craniums

Photography Equipment => DSLR Cameras => Topic started by: nickt on May 11, 2010, 05:11:53 PM

Title: d300 and battery grip
Post by: nickt on May 11, 2010, 05:11:53 PM
I use a Hahnal battery grip with my d300 and have had no problems until now. Whilst everything works with regard to the dials and the shutter on the grip, including the IR remote, the battery is not recognised in the panel. When I go to the menu and battery info, it only shows the battery fitted in the camera. I've done the obvious and checked the contacts in the battery holder and they're o.k. I've replaced the battery with a newly charged one, still no luck. Has anyone heard of this or any ideas? I've done a search on the net and can't find any info.
Thanks Nick
Title: Re: d300 and battery grip
Post by: Simple on May 12, 2010, 10:17:04 AM
When I bought my D300 and grip I bought spare Hanhel batteries. The camera did not recognise any of them. Couldn't even switch the camera on. I replaced them with proper Nikon Batteries and everything worked fine.
Title: Re: d300 and battery grip
Post by: hssutton on May 12, 2010, 10:56:36 AM
My understanding of the D300 batteries and probably later models as well is that the batteries have a chip on them, and record data about their use, relaying that to the software in the camera so that the camera knows what's what in the battery dept. Canon now do the same, but at least third pary batteries do work, but do not relay any info to the camera.
Title: Re: d300 and battery grip
Post by: nickt on May 12, 2010, 04:11:51 PM
It doesn't work even with a Nikon battery. It used to work with 3rd party batteries but not now. I've updated the firmware but still no good.