• Welcome to Camera Craniums: The Photography Community for Enthusiasts.

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 62,412
  • Total Topics: 5,705
  • Online today: 249
  • Online ever: 856 (January 21, 2020, 09:07:00 AM)
Users Online
  • Users: 0
  • Guests: 94
  • Total: 94
7ds
Temu £100 Coupon bundle o...Amazon Spring Deal: SanDi...🌸🌼 Get Ready to Blossom w...Marantz Professional MPM-...Google Pixel 7a and Pixel...JasmineSanDisk Ultra 64GB USB Fl...SanDisk 512GB Extreme PRO...GiaDo You Shoot Photos With ...Which eye do you use with...SanDisk 256GB Extreme PRO...Duracell Plus Alkaline 1....RØDE VideoMicro Compact O...I must be one of the rare...Learning Resources

total newby getting canon 700d for chrimbo

Started by chris2pher, December 09, 2016, 09:50:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

chris2pher

Hi. After decades of interest in pics and photography and a year of watching photography vids on youtube and talking to people I've taken the plunge. Its my first ever dslr. Don't normally get excited about presents but can't wait. Then I'll need a beginners course. Should I be content with a kit lens to begin with?

Great forum

Oldboy

Welcome Chris2pher. Most kit lenses are fine to start with and the one with the 700D is the 18-55mm. Great for landscapes but a bit short on reach. I suggest talking to the company you are buying it from and change the kit lens for the Canon EF-S 55-250mm f4-5.6 IS STM Lens. it will cost about £100 more but will give you more reach for wildlife shots. This lens covers a great range and will allow you to avoid buying another lens until you know what you want to shoot. Whatever you decide, get out there a take photos. It's the best way to learn and we all started off the same way. Any help just ask anyone on here. The most important lesson is to have fun.  :tup:

Hinfrance

You might want to try for a dual lens starter kit - I've seen these from Canon, Nikon and Sony in my local supermarket, all very reasonably priced.